Australians can enter Switzerland without a visa from January 2022

0 220

The Swiss Federal Council has agreed to allow Australian citizens to enter its territory without a visa for various purposes, including work and long-term stays.

The decision was announced by the Swiss State Secretariat for Migration in a press release issued on Tuesday, November 16. It is also recalled that the Federal Council decided to amend the Visa Entry and Visa Ordinance (EGVO) for this purpose.

Australian citizens will be allowed to enter Switzerland without a visa from 1 January 2022. The ordinance has been amended accordingly. From the same date, Swiss citizens will have access to the Australian Work and Holiday program", Notes the press release.

Despite the visa waiver, the entry conditions under Swiss law and Schengen regulations will remain in force for Australians, as well as for other travelers from third countries. This means that, among other things, Australians will have to prove that they have the financial means to support their stay in Switzerland.

At the same time, Australians who intend to stay for more than three months, as well as those who intend to work in the country, must first obtain a residence permit from the competent authority before entering Switzerland.

Currently, Australian citizens can enter Switzerland without a visa only for short periods of up to 90 days, for purposes that do not include employment. However, those who want to work in Switzerland, as well as those who want to stay longer in the country, must first apply for a visa to the Swiss authorities in Australia.

Switzerland issues between 500 and 800 visas to Australian citizens each year", Notes the State Secretariat for Migration.

As a reciprocity, from 1 January 2022, Australia will add Switzerland to the list of countries whose citizens are eligible for the program. Australian Work and Holiday. Countries already benefiting from this program are Argentina, Austria, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Peru, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain , Thailand, Turkey, Uruguay and Vietnam.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.