Cyprus updates the lists: Iceland on green, Slovakia on red

0 417

Cyprus updates the lists: Iceland has entered the green list and Slovakia has been transferred to the red list. The Cypriot authorities have announced changes to the list of countries affected by COVID-19 in accordance with the decision of the Council of Ministers, which will enter into force on 20 May.

"This list of country classifications, based on epidemiological risk assessment, may change at any time as the pandemic evolves and epidemiological data change. For this reason, new data will be announced and the list of countries will be updated frequently. ", notes the Government's press release.

Cyprus updates the lists: Iceland on green, Slovakia on red.

Based on the announcement by the Cypriot government, the new changes state that those traveling to Iceland will no longer be tested and will not have to isolate themselves when they arrive in Cypriot territory, as Iceland will be on the green list.

On the other hand, travelers from Slovakia will have to perform two PCR tests, one before leaving Slovakia and another after arriving in Cyprus, as well as self-isolating themselves, as Slovakia will be on the red list.

According to figures provided by ECDC, Cyprus classifies countries into four different categories: green, orange, red and gray.

Green category, which represents countries with a low risk of infection and currently includes Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and Israel. All arrivals in this category have no restrictions on entry into Cypriot territory.

Travelers entering Cyprus from a country placed in orange category must present a negative PCR test to be performed at least 72 hours before entry into Cyprus. The orange category includes the following countries:

  • Member States of the European Union: Portugal, Ireland, Finland, Malta
  • Schengen countries: Norway
  • Third countries: China (including Macao and Hong Kong), United Kingdom, Thailand

Regarding arrivals from countries placed in red category, Cyprus has imposed stricter entry restrictions. All travelers are required to submit a negative PCR test to be performed no later than 72 hours before entering Cyprus and a second test after entering the country. The red category currently includes the following countries:

  • Member States of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Italy, Greece, the Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Denmark, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, Germany, Slovakia
  • Microstats: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican, San Marino
  • Schengen countries: Switzerland and Liechtenstein
  • Third countries: Rwanda, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, United States, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrain

When it comes to countries that have not been listed in any of the above categories, they are all included in gray category. Cyprus has decided to receive tourists from 65 countries around the world which will not be subject to quarantine or testing requirements. Thus, it became the first EU Member State to announce such a decision.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.