The European Commission is calling for non-essential travel restrictions until June 15.

0 5.401

The European Commission invited Schengen Member States and Schengen Associated States to extend the temporary restriction on non-essential travel by a further 30 days until 15 June.

The European Commission notes that the situation related to the pandemic of COVID-19 it remains fragile, both in Europe and worldwide. Although some EU Member States and some Schengen Associated States are taking preliminary steps towards easing restrictions. That is why the European Commission is proposing to maintain measures targeting external borders.

The borders of EU countries should remain closed for another 30 days

The removal of travel restrictions must also be phased out. Internal border controls will need to start to be phased out in a coordinated way, and then, in a second stage, restrictions on external borders will be relaxed.

The travel restriction, as well as the invitation to extend it, applies to the "EU + area", which includes all Schengen Member States plus Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania and the 4 Schengen Associated States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland). - a total of 30 countries.

When the restrictions were introduced and how things evolved between March and May

On March 16, 2020, Commission calls on heads of state or government to introduce temporary restriction on non-essential travel to EU, for an initial period of 30 days. It was given that the state of emergency was established in Romania.

On April 8, The Commission has requested that the travel restriction be extended until 15 May. Subsequently, all EU Member States (except Ireland) and non-EU countries that are part of the Schengen area have taken national decisions to implement and extend this travel restriction.

In order to support the Member States, the Commission presented on 30 March 2020, guidance on how to implement the temporary travel restriction, on facilitating repatriations around the world and on managing the situation of people who, due to travel restrictions, have to stay in the EU longer than they are allowed to.

EU citizens, non-EU nationals belonging to the Schengen area and their family members, as well as third-country nationals who are long-term residents of the EU are exempted from applying the travel restriction for the purpose of returning home.

In conclusion, we look forward to the decisions taken by the governments of European countries, especially to see the decision of the government in Bucharest. And depending on the new decisions, we are curious how they will impact travel in the country and abroad. I know that many of you want to fly, to travel. You have a little more patience.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.