The European Council approved the list of safe countries outside the European Union

1 6.814

The Council today adopted a recommendation on the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel in the EU. Travel restrictions should be lifted for the countries listed in the recommendation, this list being reviewed and, if necessary, updated every two weeks.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the Recommendation, from 1 July, Member States should start lifting travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following countries:

List of "safe" countries outside the European Union

  • algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Noua Marine Anda
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are considered EU residents. This recommendation is also dedicated to the Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland).

The European Council's recommendation is not a legally binding instrument. Member States' authorities remain responsible for implementing the content of the recommendation. They may, in full transparency, only gradually lift travel restrictions on the countries listed.

This list of non-EU countries should be reviewed every two weeks and may be updated by the European Council, as appropriate, after close consultation with the European Commission and relevant EU agencies and services, following an overall assessment based on the above criteria. up.

Travel restrictions may be lifted in whole or in part or reintroduced for a particular country already listed subject to changes in certain conditions and, consequently, in the assessment of the epidemiological situation.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.