The European Union will remove the United States from the list of epidemiologically safe third countries

0 502

Two European Union officials confirmed to Reuters that a decision would be made on Monday to remove a total of six countries from the list of epidemiologically safe third countries, including the United States.

Removal from the list means that EU countries will re-impose an entry ban for travelers from these countries, so that they will no longer be eligible to enter without restrictions for non-essential purposes, such as tourism and business.

According to Reuters, the decision to reinstate the ban on travelers entering the US was taken on Friday, August 27, but will be officially announced on Monday, August 30. The full list of affected countries is as follows:

  • Israel
  • Kosovo
  • Lebanon
  • Montenegro
  • Northern Macedonia
  • United States

In the United States, which has a population of 328,2 million, a total of 38 cases of COVID-158 have been detected since the beginning of the pandemic, of which 495 new cases have been reported in the last 19 hours. World Health Organization.

While Israel, which has so far vaccinated about 80% of its population of about 9 million, has recorded 8.078 cases in the last 24 hours, with the number of those infected since the beginning of the pandemic exceeding 1.

The EU list of epidemiologically safe third countries is a list of non-EU / EEA countries that are considered safe due to the coronavirus pandemic due to low infection rates, and Member States are advised to reopen borders for non-essential travel in these countries. zone.

The list is reviewed every two weeks and Member States are not legally obliged to apply it. On the other hand, residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are considered EU residents.

The list currently consists of the following 23 countries: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Montenegro, New Zealand, Qatar, Moldova, Northern Macedonia, Arabia Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine, United States of America.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.