Britain is isolated. See the list of European countries that have suspended flights to England!

4 9.799

Many European countries have suspended flights to / from the UK due to a new, more contagious strain of Covid-19. Many other European countries and on other continents continue to take drastic action against the United Kingdom.

Britain is isolated

Analyzing what happened, I think this is the first time that the United Kingdom of Great Britain is going through such isolation from continental Europe, but also from other regions.

European countries with suspended flights to / from the UK


On Sunday, France suspended all connections with Britain for 48 hours, including road, air, sea or rail freight.

Including the Port of Dover and the Eurotunnel were closed following measures taken by France in relation to the United Kingdom. And everything comes just a few days before the official realization of Brexit and Britain will leave the EU trade bloc.

The office of Prime Minister Jean Castex said the 48-hour period would provide time for coordinated EU action and preparation for resumption of travel from the UK "with mandatory departure tests".


Germany has suspended all commercial flights with the United Kingdom since Sunday, at 00:00, and the ban will initially last until 31 December. Cargo flights will be an exception to this measure.

A government source told AFP that Berlin will decide to extend the flight suspension until January, when the end of Britain's post-Brexit transition period will lead to a flight ban.


On Sunday, Italian Health Minister Roberto Speranza said he had signed a decree "blocking flights from the UK and banning people who have been in the UK for the past 14 days from entering Italy".

All those who have recently traveled from the UK to Italy will be subject to thorough checks. The new strain was found in a person from Italy who had recently returned from the UK.


Sweden will join countries banning travel to the UK following the discovery of a new strain of COVID-19, the Swedish government confirmed on Sunday.


The Austrian Ministry of Health announced on Sunday that it would ban flights from the United Kingdom, but a safe date was not issued.


All passenger flights from the United Kingdom to Denmark have been temporarily suspended due to the discovery of a faster-rolling variant of the Covid-19.

Denmark will ban entry flights from the UK for 48 hours, starting at 10:00 am.

The decision was made to prevent the spread of a new strain of Covid-19 found in the UK, said Health Minister Magnus Heunicke.


All passenger flights from the United Kingdom to Norway were temporarily suspended with immediate effect due to the discovery of a faster-spreading variant of Covid-19.

The measure is valid for two days, for a start, but can be extended, NRK reports. A number of other restrictions are to be imposed on passengers traveling from the UK to Norway.


The Swiss Federal Office of Civil Aviation has suspended air links between the United Kingdom and Switzerland since midnight on Sunday. South Africa is also included in the ban, as the new variant of the virus is spreading in that country.


Flights between the UK and Spain were operational on Monday morning, but we can always expect Madrid to announce similar measures as all other EU countries. The Spanish government is waiting for a consensus at European level before imposing a travel ban. The travelers, who will travel from the UK to Spain, would take a PCR test.


Dublin said in a statement that all flights in the UK will be banned for at least 48 hours from Monday at 00:00.


All passenger flights from the UK to the Netherlands have been banned until January 1, the Dutch government said. In fact, the Netherlands was the first country to take this measure, with a case of the new strain being detected in the Netherlands itself.


Romania has suspended flights with England, from December 21, at 19:00. At the same time, all those who will travel from Great Britain to Romania will be quarantined. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland has been placed on the yellow list. The measure will be in force for 14 days.


Belgium has announced a ban on flights from the UK for 24 hours, but with the possibility of extending this measure.


Hungary will ban flights to / from the UK from 00:00 on Tuesday. Only cargo aircraft will make an exception to the measure. Authorities in Budapest have announced that the measure will be temporarily lifted on Christmas Eve.

Russia, Poland, Portugal, Northern Macedonia, Malta, Luxembourg, the Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Croatia, Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have also suspended flights to / from the UK.

Each country is dealing with these measures individually, but the EU is expected to come up with a unitary measure this week. Unfortunately, the British certainly did not want such a thing for Christmas.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.