New conditions for entry into Croatia: presentation of a negative PCR test for COVID-19

1 1.855

On 31 March 2021, the National Civil Protection Authority of the Republic of Croatia amended the conditions for entry into Croatian territory. Thus, foreign nationals, arriving from areas or states with a high epidemiological risk, including Romania, must present at the entry into the Republic of Croatia:

  • a molecular test (PCR type) with a negative result for SARS-CoV-2 virus infection or a negative antigen rapid test by the European Commission), carried out no later than 48 hours before entry.
  • a certificate of vaccination against COVID-19, if at least 14 days have elapsed since the second or single dose of the vaccine (in the case of a single dose vaccine);
  • a positive PCR molecular test or a rapid antigen test confirming that the person has been infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, performed in the last 180 days prior to entry into the Republic of Croatia and for which at least 11 days have elapsed from the date of confirmation until entry into Croatian territory.

CAREFUL! The Croatian authorities are requesting one of the documents mentioned above, not all of them together. Children up to the age of seven traveling with a parent / guardian are exempted from taking a negative test if the parent / guardian presents a negative PCR test, a negative rapid antigen test, a COVID-19 cure certificate or a certificate. vaccination against COVID-19.

The new conditions for entry into Croatian territory are in force until 15 April 2021.

The following categories of persons are exempted from the application of these measures

The following categories of persons are exempted from the application of these measures, namely the presentation on entry into the Republic of Croatia of a molecular test (PCR) with a negative result for SARS-CoV-2 infection or its performance upon arrival:

  • employees providing essential services, including health workers, cross-border and seasonal workers, pupils, students and trainees, provided that the length of stay in the territory of the Republic of Croatia or outside Croatia does not exceed 12 hours;
  • seafarers and carriers;
  • diplomats, staff of international organizations and persons invited by international organizations, military personnel, police officers, civil protection personnel and humanitarian personnel;
  • people traveling for essential family or business reasons, including journalists;
  • persons in transit, provided that the duration of the transit does not exceed 12 hours;
  • patients transported for urgent or essential health reasons;
  • persons arriving in the Republic of Croatia on humanitarian grounds to provide assistance / support in the areas affected by the earthquake (Sisak-Moslavina, Zagreb and Karlovac counties), subject to prior agreement issued by the Croatian Civil Protection Authority.


  • By road: The land borders with Slovenia, Serbia, Montenegro and Bosnia and Herzegovina are open to both freight and passenger traffic.
  • As of September 2020, the open border crossing points with Hungary are as follows:
    • Dubosevica - Udvar;
    • Gorican - Leteneye;
    • Terezino Polye - Barcs (only for Hungarian and Croatian citizens).
  • Starting with June 2020, international public road transport was resumed, in compliance with hygiene measures and social distance.
  • By rail: International rail transport has been resumed since 15 June 2020, in compliance with the epidemiological measures in force.
  • By air: Romanian citizens wishing to travel to / from Romania are advised to check the flight situation in advance as changes may occur.
  • Croatia Airlines resumed flights to Frankfurt, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Zurich, Munich, Sarajevo, Dublin, Rome, Brussels, Vienna, Paris, Dusseldorf, Berlin.
  • With effect from 1 January 2021, the Republic of Croatia has resumed flights to / from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
  • By sea: As of June 2020, the maritime border crossing points for international passenger transport have reopened.


Transit through the territory of the Republic of Croatia is permitted under the following conditions:

  • the duration of the transit should not exceed 12 hours;
  • without intermediate stops that are not strictly necessary;
  • persons passing through the Republic of Croatia are obliged to drive only on the motorway;
  • the presentation of a document which unequivocally shows the purpose of the journey and the State of destination, namely to ensure entry into the territory of the neighboring State of the Republic of Croatia, which is on the transit route to the State of destination.

The transit of the Neum Corridor (Croatia - Bosnia and Herzegovina - Croatia) for tourist purposes is allowed without stopping.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.