Only three countries remained green after the last update of the epidemiological index, according to the ECDC classification. Romania is not among them!

0 1.031

In the latest update on the epidemiological situation in EU countries, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) revealed that the spread of COVID-19 and its variants continues to be as rapid. However, in some areas, the situation has improved compared to the beginning of August.

According to figures published by the EDC on 9 September, only three countries and four regions, which have less than 50 positive cases per 100.000 inhabitants in the last 14 days, are - currently - on green list: Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Aosta region (Italy), Transylvania region (Romania) and Prešov and Košice regions (Slovakia).

Consequently, travel to these countries / regions is considered safe. In addition, travel from these countries and regions to other EU Member States should not be subject to restrictions. However, it is up to each Member State to decide the rules.

It is recommended that Member States impose pre-departure testing and self-isolation requirements on all persons arriving from red-list countries.

On the other hand, several regions have been moved on orange list, as the epidemiological situation has slightly improved: Sweden, Canary Islands and Asturias (Spain), Denmark, Finland, Latvia, Madeira (Portugal), Malta, half of Italy, half of Norway, Carinthia, Styria, Lower Austria, Burgenland, Tyrol (Austria), Normandy, Country Loire, Center-Val de Loire (France), Romania (except Transylvania region).

Travel to and from any of the countries and regions mentioned above is not discouraged. However, unvaccinated and unrecovered travelers may be subject to strict restrictions, and vaccinated travelers may be required to comply with testing requirements, depending on the rules of each country.

Instead, the ECDC suggested that strict rules should apply to all areas placed on red list of countries with more than 200 cases of coronavirus infection per 100.000 population in the last two weeks: Greece, Bulgaria, Liechtenstein, Spain, Portugal, Ireland, Iceland, the Netherlands, Belgium, Estonia, Lithuania, Cyprus, Slovenia and certain regions of Norway.

"This should also apply to those who travel for essential reasons, provided that this does not have a disproportionate impact on the performance of their duties or needs. However, transport workers should, in principle, be exempted from testing and quarantine requirements. ", informed the EU Commission.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.