Greece refuses to impose travel restrictions on the United States

0 268

The Greek Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has announced that the current NOTAM governing entry aircraft on Greek territory was extended by another week until 10 September. The extension of NOTAM did not, however, exclude the United States from the list of countries whose residents are eligible to enter Greece for non-essential purposes, despite EU recommendation to ban US travelers from entering, due to the increase in the number of cases.

In fact, the new NOTAM included only one new country - Taipei - in the list of countries whose residents are allowed to enter. No country was excluded. Thus, with the extension of NOTAM, EU and Schengen citizens, spouses and cohabitants, and minor children remain eligible to enter Greece.

Eligible to enter - from third countries - are only permanent residents of the following countries: Australia, Northern Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, New Belarus, Bahrain, Southern Bahrain, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Kosovo and Taipei.

All passengers will be tested quickly upon arrival in Greece.

All passengers arriving in Greece are required to complete the pre-journey passenger location form and either be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 or present a document certifying that they have been infected with COVID-19 in the last six months. Negative tests are also accepted if it has been carried out in the last 72 hours or a rapid test carried out 48 hours before arrival in Greece.

Greece is not the only EU country that has refused to impose an entry ban on US travel, as previously Croatia has said it will not do so, despite the recommendation of the EU Council. Iceland has also not imposed an entry ban on US residents, noting that the council's recommendation is not binding and it is up to the Member States to decide whether or not to apply it.

On the other hand, among the countries that have already banned US residents are Norway, Italy, Bulgaria, the Netherlands and Sweden.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.