Portugal has waived all COVID-19 rules and restrictions

0 567

Travelers from all countries, regardless of whether they are citizens of a European Union or a non-EU, are no longer required to comply with the COVID entry rules when traveling to Portugal, as the latter has waived all restrictions.

The news of the lifting of the entry rules was announced by the official travel portal of Portugal, Visit Portugal. From 1 July 2022, passengers entering the territory of Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira) are no longer required to provide proof of a test for a negative SARS-CoV-2 infection or to present a COVID-EU digital certificate or certificate. vaccination or recovery certificate issued by a third country, accepted or recognized in Portugal.

The mask remains mandatory in the means of transport

Although all entry rules have been removed, the Portuguese authorities state that some general rules on COVID-19 will continue to be in force. According to Visit Portugal, the requirement to wear a mask will remain mandatory in mainland Portugal when accessing public transport, taxis and other means of transport. Moreover, the requirement to wear masks also remains mandatory for those entering nursing homes and other health facilities.

Madeira also maintains similar rules. All persons over the age of six must wear a protective mask when accessing public transport, healthcare institutions and pharmacies, among others.

Apart from Portugal, 24 other countries in the European Union / European Economic Area have waived all entry restrictions for COVID-19.

The list of EU / EEA countries that have so far raised their entry rules includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Switzerland. All travelers can enter the countries mentioned above without having to present proof of COVID.

On the other hand, the COVID-19 entry rules apply to those traveling to France, Malta, the Netherlands and Spain. France and Malta continue to have entry rules for all travelers, even those in the EU / EEA. In contrast, the Netherlands and Spain maintain the entry into force rules only for travelers from third countries.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.