The 7 finalist cities in the fight for the title of "European Capital of Smart Tourism 2023"

0 205

The European Commission announced the seven finalist cities who are in the final for the European Capital of Smart Tourism 2023. They are from the European Union and non-EU countries participating in the COSME program for the Competitiveness of Companies and SMEs. Their proposals were evaluated by a rigorous panel by independent experts.


Those cities are: Aarhus (Denmark); Pafos (Cyprus); Porto (Portugal); Zagreb (Croatia); Gijón, San Sebastián and Seville from Spain. The seven finalist cities will have to present their applications to a European jury. This jury will choose two cities that will become European Capitals of Smart Tourism in 2023.

The winning destinations will receive support in communication and brand development throughout 2023, as well as promotion and advertising, with actions specifically designed to raise the profile of the award-winning cities internationally and increase visitor numbers.

The winning cities of previous editions – Helsinki and Lyon (2019), Malaga and Gothenburg (2020) and Valencia and Bordeaux (2022). They are landmarks of smart tourism in Europe and are at the top of international rankings for sustainability, innovation, livability and the application of smart practices.

The European Capital of Smart Tourism is an EU initiative, currently funded through the COSME programme, which aims to promote this type of tourism by rewarding cities for their innovative approaches to accessibility, digitalisation, sustainability and cultural heritage and creativity.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.