The US, Albania and Serbia have entered the EU's list of safe third countries

0 979

It's official! The EU has added the US, Albania and Serbia to the list of epidemiologically safe third countries. As stipulated in the Council Recommendation (of 20 May), this list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and, as appropriate, updated.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the Recommendation, from 18 June 2021, EU Member States should gradually lift travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries: Albania; Australia; Israel; Japan; Lebanon; New Zealand; Republic of Northern Macedonia; Rwanda; Serbia; Singapore; South Korea; Thailand; United States of America. China is also on the list, but subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for special administrative regions in China: Hong Kong and Macau. The condition of reciprocity for these special administrative regions has been raised.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

The Council recommendation is not a legally binding instrument. Member State authorities remain responsible for implementing the content of the recommendation. They may, in full transparency, only progressively lift travel restrictions on the countries listed. A Member State should not decide to lift travel restrictions for unlisted third countries before this is decided in a coordinated way.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.