At EU level, 338 Omicron cases were reported

0 326

The circulation of the recently detected Omicron variant and the high rates of COVID-19 infection have caused unrest in the European Union. All Member States impose stricter travel rules.

In order to prevent the spread of the virus and to control the movement of the Omicron variant, EU countries have imposed stricter entry rules, especially for unvaccinated people, travelers from third countries, as well as those traveling from areas affected by Omicron.

However, even though traffic in the countries affected by Omicron has been restricted for almost two weeks, 338 cases of the new strain have been reported in EU countries and the Schengen area. The number will no doubt increase. We tend to believe the IATA report which states that travel restrictions do not affect infection rates!

338 cases with Omicron, reported in EU countries

Of all the 21 EU / EEA countries, Denmark reported the highest number of cases with Omicron. So far, the Danish authorities have confirmed 83 cases. In second place is Portugal with 37 cases, and in third place is the Netherlands (Netherlands) with 36 cases. France reported 32 cases and Norway 29 cases.

Other countries that have identified Omicron cases are: Austria (15), Belgium (14), Croatia (3), Czech Republic (2), Estonia (6), Finland (9), Germany (15), Greece (3), Iceland (12), Ireland (1), Italy (11), Latvia (2), Liechtenstein (1), Romania (3), Spain (11) and Sweden (13).

It should be noted that EU / EEA countries have reported cases with the new Omicron strain in samples collected from cases with no history of travel to African countries, indicating transmission to the community. It is possible that the Omicron variant will be present in Europe as early as October.

In its latest map update released today, 9 December, the ECDC reiterated that all EU countries continue to identify high rates of infection. Therefore, all, mainly unvaccinated and recovered travelers, were advised to give up non-essential / tourist trips.

According to data provided by the EU Health Agency, the situation of COVID-19 has worsened especially in France over the last seven days, as almost all of its territory is now dark red.

In addition, Belgium, Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Ireland, Estonia, Poland, Iceland, Latvia, the Netherlands, Lithuania, Hungary, Greece, Liechtenstein, Slovakia and Slovenia also continue to identify an increasing number. of new cases. Romania, on the other hand, is on a downward slope, reaching a contagiousness index of 1.1.

Leave A Reply

Your email address Will not be published.